Who is my Favourite Character?

26 Oct

As the author of four volumes of fiction, I’ve created many, many characters.

Several stand out in mu mind, but none more than Allen, the hero of both  ‘The Girl Next Door’ and ‘A Second Chance,’ from  my second book of modern Australian Short Stories: ‘A Taste of Life and Love in Australia’.

It’s his personality traits  in ‘The Girl Next Door’, combined with hapless fate, that endear him to me.

From early on, Cupid’s arrow strikes him, but circumstances always seem to create an embargo to the feelings they nurture. Vicki, the girl of his dreams, is overseen by her protective mother. It transpires she’s too young, too busy, and so on to be allowed out with him. At length, he summons courage to ask her on a date, but alas! Fate has done it to him again, and he learns the lesson of the perils of procrastination.

They meet up again in the final story, ‘A Second Chance’, under quite different circumstances. I’ll leave you to read ‘A Taste of Life and Love in Australia’ to discover the outcome!

Copyright ©

13 Responses to “Who is my Favourite Character?”

  1. Dana Sambor November 1, 2011 at 10:39 pm #

    Hello.This article was really motivating, particularly because I was browsing for thoughts on this subject last couple of days.

  2. Robin Jadin November 14, 2011 at 7:51 am #

    Wonderful, what a weblog it is! This web site gives helpful information to us, keep it up.

  3. Website that teaches SEO November 15, 2011 at 1:36 am #

    Some genuinely great articles on this web site , regards for contribution.

  4. Angela Perez November 15, 2011 at 5:45 pm #

    I regard something really special in this website.

  5. web taruhan bola November 20, 2011 at 5:26 pm #

    Some genuinely choice articles on this internet site , saved to bookmarks .

  6. 都市銀行 住宅ローン November 21, 2011 at 5:24 pm #

    I view something genuinely interesting about your weblog so I saved to favorites .

  7. Zakład Blacharski Gdynia November 22, 2011 at 12:22 am #

    I discovered your blog web site on google and verify a number of of your early posts. Continue to maintain up the excellent operate. I simply further up your RSS feed to my MSN News Reader. Seeking forward to reading more from you in a while!…

  8. Flash Web Sites November 22, 2011 at 1:04 am #

    Hiya, I’m really glad I have found this info. Today bloggers publish only about gossips and internet and this is actually frustrating. A good website with interesting content, this is what I need. Thanks for keeping this website, I’ll be visiting it. Do you do newsletters? Can’t find it.

  9. 結婚相談所 岐阜 November 22, 2011 at 9:59 am #

    Wohh exactly what I was searching for, regards for putting up.

  10. my blog November 22, 2011 at 8:36 pm #

    I have been checking out many of your posts and it’s pretty nice stuff. I will surely bookmark your site.

  11. waktu solat melaka November 23, 2011 at 5:39 pm #

    You are a very capable individual!

  12. steps to become a psychiatrist November 24, 2011 at 1:23 am #

    I’ve been browsing on-line more than three hours these days, but I by no means discovered any attention-grabbing article like yours. It is beautiful worth sufficient for me. In my opinion, if all webmasters and bloggers made excellent content as you probably did, the net shall be much more useful than ever before. “We are not retreating – we are advancing in another Direction.” by Douglas MacArthur.

  13. 任意売却 横浜 November 24, 2011 at 3:56 am #

    Normally I don’t read post on blogs, but I would like to say that this write-up very pressured me to take a look at and do so! Your writing style has been amazed me. Thank you, very great post.

Leave a Reply

