It’s Here! The National Year of Reading 2012!

26 Jan

As Friends of The National Year of Reading 2012, I’m delighted to see events being planned and carried out here in Australia to highlight the advancement of literacy.

Where would we be without the written word, and our ability to read and comprehend it?

Certainly, the easy spread of information depends on it: but more….

Isn’t reading one of life’s greatest pleasures? Do we not feel a profound sense of satisfaction at the end of a  well-written, enthralling story? Don’t we feel that we are in contact with the thoughts and ideas of others, yet at the same time being stimulated to form our own opinions, and gain our own insights?

Isn’t there something to be said for reading, where one is actively engaged in the journey of discovery, against sitting back, watching and listening to  television or cinema?

Hail The National Year of Reading 2012!

Copyright ©

3 Responses to “It’s Here! The National Year of Reading 2012!”

  1. Elizabeth Lhuede February 5, 2012 at 8:42 pm #

    Hi Margaret

    Great to see another author supporting the National Year of Reading.

    I found your blog via the comment you posted on an AWW participants’ blog and wondered if you have signed up to the challenge yourself? Guest authors are particularly welcome to contribute to the AWW blog by writing an article or review of a book by an Australian woman writing in a different genre from the one(s) you’re published in.

    Apart from reading the reviews posted on the AWW challenge sign-up page and commenting on them there are several other ways you can participate and get your name and writing better known among participants. Writing a sign-up page for the challenge on your blog and participating in Wednesday nights’ Twitter discussion or posting your review links to the Australian Women Writers Facebook page are other ways you can join in.

    Is your book available as an ebook, by the way?

    • Margaret Lynette Sharp February 29, 2012 at 3:25 am #

      Hi Elizabeth,
      I was wondering if a review of a book by the Australian children’s writer P.L. Travers would be of interest to the Challenge. These were favourite books of mine when I was young, and I would be happy to do some re-reading and write a review for the Challenge. Is it too out-dated? Let’s know your thoughts. Also, details of how to send reviews.
      Best regards,
      Margaret Lynette Sharp

  2. Margaret Lynette Sharp February 6, 2012 at 3:02 am #

    Hi Elizabeth, Thanks for your comments, and subscription to my blog.
    I haven’t signed up yet for the challenge since I’m immersed in writing my sixth book and, along with making new posts to this blog, looking after my husband and home, and competing in the local swimming club, I’m fully extended at present. Our local library has asked me to give an author talk in a few months, and I’m hoping to make further posts on this blog to promote the National Year of Reading 2012. When my book is finished, I’m happy to see if circumstances permit me to contribute by reviewing books for the Challenge.
    My five published volumes are available through Amazon.com., only as physical books. However, their web-pages contain links to sample pages. Sutherland Library, near Sydney, has copies of my first four books, short stories; more titles than any other library. However, Hurstville library has contacted me to say that they intend purchasing my books, too, so this may mean that they will be ordering all five titles. I hope so, since several people have made enthusiastic remarks about ’60 Questions, Insights and Reminiscences,’ some noting that it’s a good read for teenagers as well as older people.
    I’m not yet on Twitter- maybe in the future.
    Thanks again for your support and advice. I hope to hear from you again.

Leave a Reply

