It’s here: Autumn….

23 Mar

Here in Sydney, Australia, we’ve just gone through the strangest summer I can remember. Wet and cool; what a contrast to the year before….

I guess that explains why the changing of the seasons has crept up so gradually: but this morning I realise where we are.

As I open the back door and stride outside, I suddenly notice it. The freshness of the air, deliciously cool; the gentle, unrelenting shower of yellow, gold, and orange leaves that waft down, carpeting the lawn. Automatically, I turn my eyes upwards, taking in the thousands of leaves yet to fall.

The houseproud may detest them, yet what greater messenger of the arrival of fall is the humble deciduous tree?

Copyright ©

 

 

One Response to “It’s here: Autumn….”

  1. Jennifer Avventura March 23, 2012 at 11:52 am #

    It’s a strange weather system all over the world this year!

Leave a Reply

