At the Beach : My First Encounter….

9 May

Sydney-siders like us woke up to a wonderful day, full of blue skies and the promise of unseasonal, warm weather. We weren’t in for  a disappointment, either, since by mid-morning one could be forgiven for thinking it was summer.

The lure of the sea-side overwhelmed me, so off we set, with a hastily-packed lunch, my swimming gear, and our little dog: off to the beach for a few hours of  sunshine and activity.

In case you’re wondering, the water temperature wasn’t too bad, and more than just me ventured in for a dip. I loved to see the shells in all their shapes and sizes as I walked into the baths, and more: their underwater beauty shone through, if you took the time to notice.

We’d just finished lunch, and my eyes were trained on the ocean. Suddenly, I spotted it: a black flash, a fin!

“Look at that! A shark? A whale? A dolphin?”

And that’s precisely what it was: a dolphin, surfacing  and diving! My first dolphin!

But I was wrong. It wasn’t A dolphin: it was two!

So, we watched transfixed as the pair of them swam away, seemingly immersed in their game of follow the leader.

A perfect end to a wonderful day!

Copyright ©

7 Responses to “At the Beach : My First Encounter….”

  1. Lagos May 9, 2012 at 6:57 am #

    Oh my gosh you are so lucky!

  2. The Wanderlust Gene May 9, 2012 at 7:26 am #

    What a treat, especially after the dismal summer you’ve had:) Where did you go? Did they stay around for a while, or were they travelling?

  3. Margaret Lynette Sharp May 9, 2012 at 7:52 am #

    They were circling the shores of Botany Bay.

  4. Margaret Lynette Sharp May 9, 2012 at 8:08 am #

    Yes, it was one of those very happy co-incidences that had previously eluded me!

  5. lightningpen June 8, 2012 at 4:26 am #

    Hi, this is a very intriguing story! I hope your writing catches on! Thank you for the like. Keep writing!

    • Margaret Lynette Sharp June 8, 2012 at 7:47 am #

      Thanks! I also write books of Short Stories, and have made another book of articles about life through my eyes, all published by CreateSpace and available on Amazon and other internet sellers.
      Keep up your good work, too! Writing’s so satisfying, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

