Reminiscing….

12 Jul

Do you reminisce?

Do you look back on milestones: consider your life before and after THE EVENT?

I guess all of us, if we survive into middle age, can look back and pinpoint the decisions that have moulded our lives. It could be anything: from personal involvements, trips, or choice of career.

One of my most recent big moments came almost two years ago. I decided to write a book.

I think this idea came into being around the time of the wedding of a close relation.  Of course, I saw this a milestone in her life: a decision, a turning point, for the future. She would have this to look back on.

I suppose I then considered that I, too, wanted a milestone. Already happily married, it had to be something else. A career!

And realistically, the only career that held prospects of satisfaction for myself was as a writer. I had the background: successful completion of literary courses, followed by extensive reading and life observation.

So, egged on by my husband, and later editor, Ronald Sharp B.E.M., I started to write a book. A book of Short Stories, set in the Australia that I love. A book that spoke to others of the joys and vicissitudes of life and humanity: that could make you laugh, or maybe shed a tear or two of happiness. That book, a collection of Short Stories, became known as ’25 Stories of Life and Love in Australia’. It gave me my first taste of the pleasure of receiving a five star review; a pleasure which was not repeated for many months, since getting the work into the wider literary community is, unfortunately, a slow and difficult process.

At last, I’m making progress. Six books published, and it’s just starting to happen! Exciting times!

Copyright ©

http://www.amazon.com/25-Stories-Life-Love-Australia/dp/1456597736

Leave a Reply

