Is It Nessie?

30 Jan
Is it Nessie? ( With a Bream by the tail)

Is it Nessie? ( With a Bream by the tail)

Safely out of the water, throwing it up to swallow head first.

Safely out of the water, throwing it up to swallow head first.

Today, I sat on a park-bench, overlooking a local river-baths: admiring the scenery. Everywhere seemed so calm, so peaceful. The effects of the recent heavy rain had kept everyone: and, it seemed, everything: out of the water.

Suddenly I spotted it: a small, intriguing head atop a long, lithe neck: steadily moving in the water.  With no suggestion of a body,  it was just an indistinct head and elegant, supple neck.  Spellbinding!

Thoughts of Nessie flooded my brain! In the thirty-odd years I’d been a regular visitor, I’d never before spotted anything like it!  It reminded me of an eerie, living periscope. And to think, only days ago, I’d been swimming in its current territory.

But suddenly, it reached the shore: and all was revealed.

Copyright ©

6 Responses to “Is It Nessie?”

  1. The Wanderlust Gene January 30, 2013 at 6:13 am #

    What a lucky catch!

  2. Dale Harcombe January 30, 2013 at 7:04 am #

    Having seen black swans on the lake near my place this morning, I thought it was maybe that. Close I guess.

    • Margaret Lynette Sharp January 30, 2013 at 7:35 am #

      Yes, pretty close!
      I couldn’t take my eyes off it as it came nearer and nearer the shore…..

  3. Margaret January 30, 2013 at 7:41 am #

    It’s wonderful seeing something new in a place you know so well. And you were lucky enough to get a photo, well done! I saw you link on the Aussie Goodreads Group BTW.

    • Margaret Lynette Sharp January 30, 2013 at 8:29 am #

      Thanks, Margaret! It was fascinating to see: and providence, perhaps, that I had the camera strap around my neck. 🙂

Leave a Reply

