Boomer lit: Here’s an Extract!

10 Jul

The wonderful members of the Goodreads Boomer Lit Group are having a blog hop this Friday, and I’ve been invited to participate!

With six collections of Australian Short Stories from which to choose, my only problem was to decide which story to feature.

After some deliberation, I’ve selected ‘Au Revoir’ from my third title, ‘The Essence of Life and Love in Australia’.

Here’s a snippet.

AU REVOIR

My dear Pierre,

Surprised isn’t a strong enough word to describe my feelings when I first heard from you. So much has happened in the last forty-two years that I now look back on my young life as almost ethereal. Please don’t read into this any dismissal of my feelings towards you, but rather as an acknowledgement that, to me, it seems so very far away.

Glad to hear that you’ve had an interesting, fulfilling life, and that your late, darling wife brought you much happiness, though as you say, you never knew the patter of little feet. My daughter, Briony, proved a source of much pleasure, but occasional heartbreak, as Henry and i watched her grow up. Now a mother of three herself, she is a great pillar of support, especially now, since Henry’s death.

Are you enjoying this? Then why not treat yourself to a copy of this book.

http://www.amazon.com/kindle-store/dp/B00BACZ7UK

8 Responses to “Boomer lit: Here’s an Extract!”

  1. Shelley Lieber July 12, 2013 at 1:58 pm #

    Nicely written!

  2. Sandra Nachlinger July 12, 2013 at 4:09 pm #

    Good writing. Your excerpt made me want to know more about Pierre and the person writing the letter to him. I’m curious about their past!
    My Boomer Lit Friday post is here: http://iousex.blogspot.com/2013/07/boomer-lit.html

    • Margaret Lynette Sharp July 13, 2013 at 12:30 am #

      I’m delighted the extract whetted your interest!
      Liked your post, too. πŸ™‚

  3. Claude Nougat July 12, 2013 at 5:45 pm #

    One wonders how these two lives will cross, they sound so far apart…Intriguing snippet!

    • Margaret Lynette Sharp July 13, 2013 at 12:31 am #

      This story was mentioned in a Goodreads review of the title. I’m glad you liked its introduction. πŸ™‚

  4. Beth July 12, 2013 at 6:02 pm #

    It makes me want to read a little further, so see where this is going.

    • Margaret Lynette Sharp July 13, 2013 at 12:34 am #

      It’s quite a engaging little tale, and a reviewer of the title mentioned it positively. I’m very pleased that you approve of what you’ve read so far. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

