From My Garden: Pink Camellias

20 Aug

Despite their drawbacks, I love Camellias. For many weeks now, my favourite one has graced our yard with its glorious pink blooms.

It’s so long ago since I planted it that I’m not certain of its name, but I think it’s called Prince Frederick William. It’s a Japonica variety: its large and lovely glossy leaves testify to that.

These flowers are one of the many floral joys of an Australian

A Camellia in our Garden

A Camellia in our Garden

mid Winter to early Spring.

Let’s go outside and enjoy it!

2 Responses to “From My Garden: Pink Camellias”

  1. davidprosser August 20, 2013 at 5:11 am #

    A beautiful photograph Margaret. They were my wife’s favourite flowers and we had them growing just outside the front door. Even the colour is right Of course this year’s crop have died off now. I need to dead head them. They obviously do well where you’ve planted them, no wonder it’s a pleasure to go out and enjoy them.
    xxx Hugs xxx

    • Margaret L. Sharp (@MargaretLynett1) August 20, 2013 at 5:19 am #

      They’re lovely, David! There are others growing in my neighbourhood, but most are different shades. I am planning to grow another one in our front garden soon. Flowers are evocative.
      xxx Hugs xxx

Leave a Reply

