Before the Heat…

17 Oct

Ron, Chicki and I spent part of this morning in the park.

 

Cockatoos by the Shore

Cockatoos by the Shore

Fortunately, the forecast heat had barely started.

Perhaps the cockatoos had gotten wind of the prediction, though, for they were stoking up early with food and water.

Are these the most engaging parrots in the Australian bush?

2 Responses to “Before the Heat…”

  1. davidprosser October 17, 2013 at 9:02 am #

    They’re beautiful looking birds but I still have a fascinations for budgerigars having found their characteristics to be engaging with people, well with me at least. My last one lived till almost 14 and used to steal ( borrow) my loose change and fly off to drop it in the cage he slept in at night. If he wasn’t getting enough attention he’s throw things on the floor till I noticed him and played football or whatever. He used to get hiccups from drinking Pepsi straight from the tin, would take a sip of my fathers whisky and would quite happily sit by your dinner plate eating the mashed potato, occasionally tramping through it.and leaving gravy stained footsteps (clawsteps) on the table cloth the other side.
    I don’t believe in them being caged unless that’s where they choose to sleep- door open of course- they’re far more entertaining out of it. I wish the UK was warm enough that they could survive here.
    xxx Massive Hugs xxx

    • Margaret L. Sharp (@MargaretLynett1) October 17, 2013 at 9:24 am #

      I’m lucky to live where wild cockatoos are quite common. They are the most engaging creatures! No matter how many photos I have of them, I can’t resist taking more….
      Budgerigars are delightful, too, but they are never seen in the wild where I live. Your last one sounded like a real character!
      xxx Biggest Hugs xxx

Leave a Reply

