Fragrant Frangipani and Memories of Childhood

14 Jan

One of my most vivid childhood memories is participating in the delightful pastime of collecting the fallen flowers of the Frangipani tree.

The tree in question lived (and thrived) in the front garden of my Aunt and Uncle, who lived several doors down the street. It was in a suburb where gardens were small, and flowers of this quality were in short supply. Deliciously fragrant and pretty flowers were a treasure, especially through my childish eyes.

As time went by, my parents, sister and I moved away to the house where I currently live. Frangipanis all but disappeared from my life, until one day, Dad brought home a couple of small, bare trees. These he planted in our front garden.

This photo is of the variety identical to that of my Aunt and Uncle. The other specimen– a glorious pink– is also doing well.

Fragrant Frangipani

Fragrant Frangipani

I only wish that you could savour the perfume…

Copyright ©

4 Responses to “Fragrant Frangipani and Memories of Childhood”

  1. Jennifer Avventura January 14, 2014 at 11:42 am #

    Gosh, those are lovely flowers! Wish I could smell them. 🙂

  2. David Prosser (@davidmfprosser) January 14, 2014 at 5:26 pm #

    I don’t believe I’ve ever seen frangipani or smelled them but if the scent is like the look it’ll be magic.
    xxx Massive Hugs xxx

    • Margaret Lynette Sharp January 15, 2014 at 10:03 am #

      It’s beautiful, David, especially in the early evening….
      xxx Huge Hugs xxx

Leave a Reply

