The Four O’clocks of my Childhood

25 Jan

Few flowers remind me of my childhood more than these charming and unusual plants.

I guess some consider them to be little better than weeds since they grow so readily and spread so well.

Be that as it may, they are a sweet and colourful reminder of my childhood: where I lived when I was small.

It was near the city, and gardens were not in abundance.

There hardy plants soldiered on, year after year, dying back over winter: to return again every Spring.

They are quite intriguing. They open their petals to show their lovely colours only when the light is not too bright. Hence their name: Four o’clocks.

Four o'clocks

Four o’clocks

I’m sure that there’s another title that purists give them, but to me this fits the bill nicely.

Do they grow where you live?

Copyright ©

5 Responses to “The Four O’clocks of my Childhood”

  1. Odie Langley January 25, 2014 at 12:19 pm #

    I have a board at Pinterest with just beautiful flowers and I just added this gorgeous one to my collection. Your blog is a bright spot in my days now.

    • Margaret Lynette Sharp January 25, 2014 at 8:32 pm #

      Thanks, Odie! I’m very glad you liked it. 🙂 They come in other colours, too.

  2. davidprosser January 25, 2014 at 2:15 pm #

    What very pretty flowers
    xxx Huge Hugs xxx

  3. joshi daniel January 26, 2014 at 6:45 am #

    striking colors 🙂

Leave a Reply

