An Old Tree in the Australian Bush

23 Feb
Impressive example of an Angophora costata

Impressive example of an Angophora costata

We live near an important and delightful area of unspoilt Australian bush.

In addition to the birds, reptiles, marine-life and other animals, there are many wonderful mature trees, and I love to admire them.

This one has the most beautiful coloured bark. It’s called a Smooth-barked Apple (Angophora costata). As you can see, it’s a large, spreading tree.

Just another of the many treasures to be found in the Australian  bush.

Copyright ©

6 Responses to “An Old Tree in the Australian Bush”

  1. davidprosser February 23, 2014 at 8:44 am #

    I officially envy you Margaret. You’re surrounded by so much colour and beauty.
    xxx Hugs Galore xxx

    • Margaret Lynette Sharp February 23, 2014 at 8:52 am #

      I’ve spent nearly all my life here, David. We live in the same house I moved into when I was ten years old and I have never moved out. 🙂
      xxx Massive Hugs xxx

  2. Odie Langley February 23, 2014 at 11:22 am #

    What really caught my attention was that it looks like it is growing between two large rocks. The colors are really amazing. Talking about your house made me think of my Aunt Doris who is 80 now and lives in the same house she was actually born in. My grandfathers house.

    • Margaret Lynette Sharp February 24, 2014 at 12:41 am #

      i love the colours of this bark, and you’re right: it *is* amazing that it grows where it does!
      Living in the same house for a very extended period is becoming quite rare in this era. 🙂

  3. Linda Visman - wangiwriter February 23, 2014 at 10:21 pm #

    Lovely photo of a beautiful tree, Margaret. I thought at first glance that it was a spotted gum, but now see the difference.
    I must post some photos I took yesterday of some fabulous trees that were in the fire that ravaged the bush here a couple of months ago. They are amazing survivors.

    • Margaret Lynette Sharp February 24, 2014 at 12:44 am #

      I identified the species by looking at photos in a brochure published by our local Flora and Fauna Society, and I was pretty sure I had it right. 🙂
      I’ll be interested to see your photos, Linda! It’s so encouraging to see trees pull through such damaging conditions.

Leave a Reply

