A Tree Grows at Ramsgate

27 Feb
A Tree Grows at Ramsgate

A Tree Grows at Ramsgate

A tree grows at Ramsgate…

Well, actually, *many* trees grow at Ramsgate, but this beauty has become a focal point in this photo taken overlooking Ramsgate Beach.

For those unfamiliar, Ramsgate Beach is one of many lovely beaches that form part of the Botany Bay foreshores. I used to swim there quite often, until a sign warning me of the potential presence of stingrays seriously deterred me. Actually meeting and speaking with one of its victims put the finishing touches on my decision…

Nevertheless, it’s a delightful place to visit, and for those brave enough to expose themselves to the risk, it’s a wonderful place to swim.

Copyright ©

4 Responses to “A Tree Grows at Ramsgate”

  1. davidprosser February 27, 2014 at 7:13 am #

    When I first saw the title I thought it meant Ramsgate the town in England so I was delighted to see it was something by you Margaret. The tree makes a lovely focal point.and the scene is splendid. We’ve all heard of Botany Bay of course but I didn’t realise that it had a variety of beaches.
    I’m glad to hear you decided to give the stingrays a miss.
    XXX Huge Hugs XXX

    • Margaret Lynette Sharp February 27, 2014 at 7:35 am #

      There’re quite a number of beaches along here. Last January my husband Ron and I watched from the shores of Ramsgate Beach some of the yachts sailing in the Sydney to Hobart Yacht Race. Perhaps I’ll make a post about it, though I guess it’s stale news now. But the pictures may be of interest, anyway.
      I haven’t braved the waters of Ramsgate Baths for over a year, now, and I still recall the scars that the lady swimmer showed me of her encounter with a stingray there. It was enough to put me off…
      XXX Massive Hugs XXX

  2. Odie Langley February 27, 2014 at 10:10 am #

    As the old saying goes here, a little common sense goes a long way, safety is much better than recovery. It is a gorgeous scene for sure. I for one would like to see the beautiful boats. Have a wonderful day.

    • Margaret Lynette Sharp February 27, 2014 at 10:48 am #

      Thanks, Odie. 🙂 The boats are in the distance, but It’s still an interesting scene. I’ll make a post, probably some time next week. Have a great day, too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

