Crimson Rosella: One of My Favourite Sights

17 Mar
Crimson Rosella

Crimson Rosella

There’s something wonderful about the sight of these magnificent parrots.

Their depth of colour in their feathers is extraordinary.

Small wonder that they often attract the attention of photographers!

Although officially common, I don’t see them every day, or even every week. But doesn’t this make their presence even more special?

Enjoy!

Copyright Β©

13 Responses to “Crimson Rosella: One of My Favourite Sights”

  1. iosatel March 17, 2014 at 2:22 am #

    Beautiful coloring!

  2. stephonramoutar March 17, 2014 at 2:35 am #

    beautiful bird!

  3. davidprosser March 17, 2014 at 8:12 am #

    There’s no doubting he’s a magnificent sight. I wonder if they’re as long lived as some parrots. If I lived in Australia it would have to be somewhere I could be surrounded by budgies and birds like these all the time.
    xxx Massive Hugs xxx

    • Margaret Lynette Sharp March 18, 2014 at 4:25 am #

      Where I live (in suburban Sydney) there are no wild budgies, but plenty of beautiful parrots!
      xxx Huge Hugs xxx

  4. haridasgowra March 17, 2014 at 8:56 am #

    great one#
    #wordpress@!

  5. Odie Langley March 18, 2014 at 10:16 am #

    We have a few birds that make me happy when I can see them like the “Kill Deer” or the NC state bird the Cardinal (male & such a pretty color of red) but nothing compares to your beautiful bird. What a blessing for you to be able to witness them in all their glory.

    • Margaret Lynette Sharp March 18, 2014 at 10:43 am #

      I agree that these Rosellas are very beautiful.
      I’ve seen photos of Cardinal birds and they are also lovely. Such beautiful shades of red. πŸ™‚

  6. Linda Visman - wangiwriter March 20, 2014 at 4:41 am #

    Did you take this photo Margaret? It is extraordinarily good. πŸ™‚ We don’t have the crimson rosella up here, just the eastern rosella, which is also beautiful.

    • Margaret L. Sharp (@MargaretLynett1) March 20, 2014 at 5:48 am #

      Thanks for kudos regarding the photo, Linda! πŸ™‚ All the photos (with the exception of most of those on my book covers) are taken by me. I take my camera with me to the park almost every day.
      A brochure I have about the birds in the local park states that there are also Eastern Rosellas there, but I haven’t seen one yet. They are very brightly coloured. I would love to see (and photograph) at least one. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

