A Heron in the Rain…

27 Mar
Heron in the Rain

Heron in the Rain

A Heron in the rain…

The beauty of our local bushland park in suburban Sydney is endless, and certainly not confined to sunny weather.

Sometimes I think that the most beautiful sights are to found in the rain, gentle or otherwise.

There is a simple, touching charm in these times: and one of my favourite spots to observe is on the promenade where the river and its surrounds can be closely watched.

I hope you enjoy this shot of a White-faced Heron as it searches for breakfast on the shores of the baths.

Copyright ©

10 Responses to “A Heron in the Rain…”

  1. George Weaver March 27, 2014 at 6:02 am #

    I love herons. All of them, and this fellow with his shadow is no exception. very nice!

    • Margaret Lynette Sharp March 27, 2014 at 6:24 am #

      They are quite fascinating. The White-faced ones are very elegant. I see them quite often in the river baths, especially when the tide is getting low.

  2. davidprosser March 27, 2014 at 6:49 am #

    It’s certainly very focused on not letting breakfast get away.
    xxx Massive Hugs Margaret xxx

  3. Odie Langley March 27, 2014 at 9:17 am #

    The white face really sets him off and makes him look special.

  4. Uncle Tree March 27, 2014 at 10:12 pm #

    It is an odd looking bird. And what a beak!
    Like needle-nose pliers. 😉 Good catch!

    Now, Margaret, listen to me. I do not want you to feel obligated
    to return the “Like” every day, especially when you have to browse
    so much, just to find one you’ve yet to Like. It’s okay. I don’t post all that
    often anymore. All your visits are, and have been, much appreciated.

    You saw some of my unfinished novel. LoL Well, it was supposed to be
    a short story, but it went on and on and…I couldn’t end it, so there it sits.
    Anywayz, best wishes to you and yours today! Peace and luvz, Keith

    • Margaret Lynette Sharp March 27, 2014 at 10:27 pm #

      Hi, Uncle Tree,
      First, thanks for your comment about the Heron. 🙂
      It is so thoughtful of you to comment about my difficulty in finding a post of yours that I’m yet to like. You are the only blogger who has mentioned this situation. So thank you, I will ‘Like’ your posts now and then. Much appreciated.
      Re your unfinished novel..Maybe it would work as a novella if your problem is that you are daunted by having tens of thousands of words to go. I have published a couple of novellas and a few readers have praised them. It’s a shame for you to have done so much and just let it sit…Just a thought. 🙂
      Best wishes to you!

      • Uncle Tree March 27, 2014 at 10:40 pm #

        Thank you for understanding. 🙂 I have 35,000+ words,
        so I’m close, I think. An ending – a way to finish it right – that’s what never came to me. Then again, I may not want to have a book I have to sell and promote. LoL As a single parent with a factory job, I have enough to worry about.

  5. Margaret Lynette Sharp March 28, 2014 at 1:59 am #

    Gee, you’re nearly there! If I were you I’d give it some thought and finish it off. 🙂 (My longest individual work, the novella ‘Michaela Betrayed’ is just 15,000 words. I added some short stories to the title to make it a better size in total. So congrats on getting so far.) 🙂

Leave a Reply

