A Sight for Sore Eyes: A Crimson Rosella

5 Apr
Crimson Rosella

Crimson Rosella

A sights for sore eyes: a Crimson Rosella.

These strikingly-coloured birds brighten my day.

I see them far less frequently than their beautiful relatives, the Rainbow Lorikeets, and whenever I do their presence cheers me.

Parrots are such interesting creatures.

What better way to observe them than in their natural environment?

Copyright ©

18 Responses to “A Sight for Sore Eyes: A Crimson Rosella”

  1. bodhisattvaintraining April 5, 2014 at 5:45 am #

    So beautiful! I haven’t seen one in ages either.

  2. Nia Simone and Ántonia Moran April 5, 2014 at 7:02 am #

    I agree. That’s where they belong. What a stunning photo. Good job capturing this amazing creature in a photo! I’ve never even heard of this bird before.

  3. Flamingo Dancer April 5, 2014 at 9:36 am #

    They visit us from time to time too – such beauty

  4. davidprosser April 5, 2014 at 10:21 am #

    What a stunner. You’re right about seeing them in their natural environment though but having said that I love to have budgies indoors- not in cages ( except to sleep and eat) of course as their companionship is great.
    xxx Massive Hugs xxx

    • Margaret Lynette Sharp April 6, 2014 at 7:29 am #

      I love to see them where they belong. I have a couple of budgies but unfortunately they need to be caged outdoors.

  5. Odie Langley April 5, 2014 at 10:30 am #

    Makes me smile too when I see such beauty. Glad you had your camera and happy you love to share. Have a great weekend

    • Margaret Lynette Sharp April 6, 2014 at 7:31 am #

      Thanks, Odie! Thank goodness we have modern cameras and the internet to share! Hope your weekend is great. 🙂

  6. Uncle Tree April 5, 2014 at 11:10 am #

    No cages! No fences!
    No sage’s pretenses.

    Just parrot this fine bird;
    find a beauty; eat your word.

    Take a picture! Be absurd!
    And may your life n’er be blurred!

    Uncle Tree
    Thanks to Margaret for this morning’s 🙂
    Inspiration.

    • Margaret Lynette Sharp April 6, 2014 at 7:32 am #

      Oh, Uncle Tree, I’m so pleased to have given you inspiration to write a lovely poem.:)

      • Uncle Tree April 6, 2014 at 6:36 pm #

        I shared this on Facebook. 🙂 Me no Tweet.

  7. Margaret Lynette Sharp April 7, 2014 at 6:04 am #

    Wonderful! Thanks, Uncle Tree!

  8. karensdifferentcorners April 8, 2014 at 3:08 pm #

    We don’t get birds as colorful as this where i live. He’s gorgeous! Thank you for sharing.

    • Margaret Lynette Sharp April 9, 2014 at 2:12 am #

      🙂 Australia has many beautiful parrots. I’m glad you liked this one. Thanks for visiting my blog. 🙂

      • karensdifferentcorners April 10, 2014 at 1:56 am #

        I’ve noticed that. I have a friend (A few, actually) that live in Australia, and Tony is always sharing the most beautiful photos and videos. I could do without the bats though. 🙂

Leave a Reply

