What’s for Lunch? A Galah Finds Out…

21 Apr

What’s for lunch?

I’m guessing an assortment of grass seeds…

This menu may seem dull to us, but I suppose it’s a smorgasbord if you’re a Galah.

There’s nothing nicer than seeing our beautiful Australian parrots living free. Recently I spotted a small flock near our home.

These pretty birds are fairly large and are sometimes kept as pets. They are wonderful talkers. But for my money they’re best in the wild, free and untamed.

A wild Galah

A wild Galah

.

Enjoy!

Copyright Ā©

8 Responses to “What’s for Lunch? A Galah Finds Out…”

  1. Linda Visman - wangiwriter April 21, 2014 at 5:26 am #

    There are lots of galahs out west. When I lived in Hermannsburg, NT, they nested in trees just across the street. The incessant calls of the babies could be very annoying! šŸ™‚
    We never saw galahs in the wild along the east coast when I was growing up. Like many other birds, they have changed their ranges with changes in the climate.

    • Margaret Lynette Sharp April 21, 2014 at 7:55 am #

      There are some in the local park, but I see them more often on the streets or in reserves. They are pretty parrots. I’m not sorry that they have moved locally.:)

  2. davidprosser April 21, 2014 at 6:31 am #

    Beautiful. You can see the intelligence behind those little eyes.
    xxx Mammoth Hugs xxx

  3. Odie Langley April 21, 2014 at 9:46 am #

    Yes you look at them and think of cages but knowing they are free makes me very happy and I am sure they are too.

  4. Uncle Tree April 21, 2014 at 11:34 am #

    Never before have I seen or heard of a Galah.
    Such dull colors, comparatively. Camouflage, perhaps?

    Thanks for enlarging my world today, Margaret! šŸ™‚
    (Still learning – thank goodness!)

    • Margaret Lynette Sharp April 21, 2014 at 12:14 pm #

      Well, I’m glad I made this post! But you know, Keith, that Galahs are actually quite pretty birds, and most of the feathers that are unseen in this photo are pink.

      Thanks for visiting! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

