Another Mystery: Birdwatchers, Help!

22 Apr

2013_0301imagefacebook0088Another mystery is on my hands.

Today I sorted through some photos and came across this.

Sure, it’s a parrot…But what is it?

I’m guessing it’s a Rainbow Lorikeet. Problem is, that it’s taken at an angle unfamiliar to me.

Any opinions would be appreciated.

The first three responses can chose from a pdf of ‘A Taste of Life and Love in Australia’ or ‘Long and Short Australian Stories’. Each of these titles contains a selection of romantic tales. Please state in your comment which title you would like.

So, if your penchant extends to both bird identification and Australian Short Stories, what are you waiting for?

Copyright Β©

 

17 Responses to “Another Mystery: Birdwatchers, Help!”

  1. Uncle Tree April 22, 2014 at 1:05 am #

    My vote is for the Rainbow Lorikeet! But, then again, what do I know?
    Green wings, red-head, yellow fan-tail ~ yep! My kinda branch hugger. πŸ˜‰
    “A Taste Of Life And Love Down Under” LoL As you please, Margaret.

    • Margaret Lynette Sharp April 22, 2014 at 7:24 am #

      Thanks, Keith!Hope you enjoy ‘A Taste…’

      • Uncle Tree April 22, 2014 at 10:57 am #

        Thank you! Gimme time, tho. Back to work today for me.

      • Margaret Lynette Sharp April 22, 2014 at 11:39 am #

        Take all the time you need, Keith πŸ™‚
        I’m half-way through writing a novella. It’s not so hard to fit that project in, as a housewife. πŸ™‚

  2. jorobinson176 April 22, 2014 at 2:48 am #

    Rimatera Lorikeet? He seems to have more red on his face than blue – hard to tell. πŸ™‚ Long and Short Australian Stories. πŸ˜€

  3. davidprosser April 22, 2014 at 4:31 am #

    I’m sorry I can’t help Margaret but he’s a stunner like so many of the pictures you show us. No way could he hide out.
    xxx Massive Hugs xxx

    • Margaret Lynette Sharp April 22, 2014 at 7:27 am #

      Thanks, David! He’s a mystery….
      (By the way, David, if you fancy reading ‘Long and Short Australian Stories’ just let me know. I remember that you already have ‘A Taste…’

    • Margaret Lynette Sharp April 22, 2014 at 7:33 am #

      xxx Biggest Hugs, David xxx

  4. Linda Visman - wangiwriter April 22, 2014 at 6:52 am #

    Not a rainbow lorikeet as his beak is white/creamy coloured – rainbows are red. I am pretty sure it is a crimson rosella.

    • Margaret Lynette Sharp April 22, 2014 at 7:32 am #

      Yes, you’re absolutely right, Linda. It can’t be a Rainbow Lorikeet. I think the Crimson Rosellas have blue-black wings, though. It doesn’t exactly fit the bill of a King Parrot, either. Could it be a mutation or a cross-breed?
      As a token of my admiration of your very relevant observation of beak colour, I’d be happy to send you a pdf of either ‘A taste…’ or ‘Long and Short Australian Stories’. Just post a comment to tell me.

      • Linda Visman - wangiwriter April 22, 2014 at 9:25 am #

        Always possible that it’s a cross breed. I do know that scaly-breasted lorikeets and rainbow lorikeets can breed together, so others may also do so.
        I would be delighted to receive some of your writing! Thank you very much. Whichever you think I would prefer, based on what you have come to know about me :-).

  5. Margaret Lynette Sharp April 22, 2014 at 9:28 am #

    Wonderful! I’ll send you ‘Long and Short Australian Stories’. πŸ™‚

    • Marshall April 22, 2014 at 12:13 pm #

      i reckon she is an Eastern Rosella

      • Margaret Lynette Sharp April 22, 2014 at 12:25 pm #

        You may be right, Marshall. According to a brochure about local birds, they are around. And it does look like the one in the booklet. πŸ™‚

  6. bodhisattvaintraining April 22, 2014 at 1:19 pm #

    Hi Margaret – I think that’s a young Crimson Rosella – change colour as they mature..

    • Margaret Lynette Sharp April 23, 2014 at 3:27 am #

      That seems quite possible. The head is that of a Crimson Rosella (as it appears in wildlife photos.)
      Thanks so much for your comment! It sheds new light!

Leave a Reply

