Birds of a Feather: Shags on the Net

28 Apr
Little Black Cormorants

Little Black Cormorants

Most people associate shags with rocks.

So it follows that a row of these quite interesting birds perched on the shark net of the local swimming baths is something of a rarity.

These shags are, in fact, Little Black Cormorants, and they actually prefer freshwater to the saline river. Nevertheless, I see them quite often, though usually they aren’t lined up as in this photograph.

Enjoy!

Copyright ©

6 Responses to “Birds of a Feather: Shags on the Net”

  1. davidprosser April 28, 2014 at 5:39 am #

    Blimey, the thought that you needed a shark net might just put me off swimming. I’d be wanting to check it for holes every 5 minutes. It looks like the shags are directing traffic. Those on the left say STOP while those on the right may just be telling the sharks to GO.
    xxx Stupendous Hugs xxx

    • Margaret Lynette Sharp April 28, 2014 at 5:47 am #

      Unfortunately, David, I must assure you that the net is absolutely necessary. Bull sharks (yes, that’s what they’re called) are known to swim up our way. Worse, there have been times when the net has had holes. But these days, the holes are mended much more quickly than they were, years ago. And yes, I’m still swimming. 🙂
      xxx World’s Biggest Hugs xxx

  2. Odie Langley April 28, 2014 at 9:34 am #

    The shark net got most of my attention too.

    • Margaret Lynette Sharp April 28, 2014 at 9:56 am #

      I guess it’s daunting, Odie, but I’ve swum there for thirty-two years and I haven’t been bitten yet. 🙂 I wouldn’t swim outside it, though, and now and then I see someone who takes the risk.

  3. Linda Visman - wangiwriter April 29, 2014 at 4:20 am #

    Good catch on the line there Margaret. 🙂
    There are lots of little cormorants on Lake Macquarie, Margaret – salt water. As well as resting on rocks to dry their wings, there is one particular tree on our walk into Wangi village where they also rest.
    We have bull sharks too – they can be nasty things. However they seem to stay in one area, alongside Pulbah Island, where the water is deep, and are rarely seen elsewhere. People still swim in the lake. 🙂

    • Margaret Lynette Sharp April 29, 2014 at 6:48 am #

      All interesting points, Linda!
      My information about the cormorants came from a leaflet produced by our local Fauna and Flora society, and produced by the local Council. I do see quite a few cormorants in our river, both the Little Pied and Little Black varieties.
      I am scared of sharks (though I have no wish to hurt them) and wouldn’t swim where there was a rick of attack. That’s me, though. 🙂

Leave a Reply

