A Lone Swimmer…

22 May
Me at Ramsgate Baths

Me at Ramsgate Baths

This summer I have rarely ventured into the sea.

But, on one occasion I braved it at Ramsgate Baths, in Sydney’s Botany Bay Foreshores.

Under good conditions, nothing beats swimming in this delightfully salty and clear water.

In  a pounding surf, though, I am not strong enough to get in and out of these baths.  Sure, I can swim in  it, but the problem lies in the extraordinary power of moving water. It is so hard to keep on ones feet.

Still, on this particular day, despite tempting waves and pleasant weather, I swam alone.

Copyright ©

 

6 Responses to “A Lone Swimmer…”

  1. davidprosser May 22, 2014 at 5:38 am #

    You” have to write a new book Margaret, ‘The Loneliness of the Long Distance Swimmer’. It’s a surprise in a baths that big not to see someone else around.
    xxx Massive Hugs xxx

    • Margaret Lynette Sharp May 22, 2014 at 10:53 am #

      The Ramsgate Baths are quite long, about 100 yards, and they are very enticing. The river baths (where I usually swim) are much larger, yet even there it is quite common for me to swim on my own. But I don’t think that there’s a book in it, David, though I admit to doing a lot of thinking while I swim.
      xxx Biggest Hugs xxx

  2. Odie Langley May 22, 2014 at 10:27 am #

    I love to see the water anytime I can but rarely get into the ocean or ever into our muddy river. What I love is a lake about 3 hours from here with water so clear you can still see your feet when it is up to your chest. It is called White Lake and we love it.

    • Margaret Lynette Sharp May 22, 2014 at 10:54 am #

      That sounds wonderful! I love clear water. 🙂 Lucky you! Pity it’s so far away, though.

  3. Simona February 7, 2015 at 1:18 pm #

    ▐▬▌αρρу ƊƌƳ♥

Leave a Reply

