Going Home…

10 Jul
The reserve where I used to play

The reserve where I used to play

Once in a while I re-visit my childhood home.

Well, what’s left of it. The house that I grew up in has lately been demolished.

But the environment remains.

It’s a strange experience. What seemed so large and impressive to me as a child takes on a quite different perspective.

This is a photo of the reserve where I often used to play as a child. In those days, the ramps were irresistible attractions on which to ride tricycles, scooters and the like. I remember coming to grief once as I fell off my trike. So long ago…

Copyright ©

13 Responses to “Going Home…”

  1. kcg1974 July 10, 2014 at 12:35 am #

    So sad to see it gone. And, I know what you mean. What was once so BIG is now so little……I’ve done the same. 😦

  2. davidprosser July 10, 2014 at 4:53 am #

    I’m not familiar with the term ‘reserve’ but I take it to mean communal area? I’m intrigued by he pillars which look like the start of an official building like a town hall.
    I guess many of us who don’t live in the area in which we grew up have revisited. When I did so, the house I grew up in was still there as was the street but the surrounding area had changed so much.I felt larger than I am since my life seemed so small then.
    I hated to see a canal I’d played by had been filled in and a mill my mother had worked in was now trendy apartments.Though recognisable, the primary school I attended looked so small. There was a slight feeling of arriving at an unfamiliar landscape which I’ve never quite got over.
    xxx Massive Hugs xxx

    • Margaret L. Sharp (@MargaretLynett1) July 10, 2014 at 5:57 am #

      You, know, David, I’m not entirely sure what the pillars are for, but I think that there is a monument somewhere in the middle section (obscured).
      You’ve guessed correctly about a ‘reserve” : it’s a park, but not a very large one.
      Everything looks so different through the eyes of a mature person.
      xxx Gigantic Hugs xxx

  3. roughseasinthemed July 10, 2014 at 5:31 am #

    I’ve never been back. Nearest I have got was shooting through one of my local towns on a train.

    • Margaret L. Sharp (@MargaretLynett1) July 10, 2014 at 5:59 am #

      I found it a very odd experience. Few things seemed to be as my memory told me they were. Much had been demolished and re-built, and what still stood seemed so different.

  4. Paul Militaru July 10, 2014 at 8:18 am #

    It’s an interesting experience, to go back, where you born.Beautiful Margaret, you gave me an idea.I will do it myself.

  5. theowllady July 10, 2014 at 8:15 pm #

    Reblogged this on theowlladyblog.

  6. neuroticocomic July 28, 2014 at 1:22 pm #

    My home town of Kremlin OK, has all but withered up! My parent’s house and the neighbor’s houses are there, but many have been torn down, or have been abandoned for 20 years, and are about to fall down! There used to be a lot of beautiful tall trees around town, but ice storms, tornadoes, and people have removed those. It is like a dust bowl there now! I understand how you feel. 🙂 Thank you for checking out my blog! I will be back to look at yours in more detail.

    • Margaret Lynette Sharp July 28, 2014 at 11:57 pm #

      It’s sad to see the place you called home go into a sorry state.
      Thanks for the visit and comment. Best regards, Margaret

Leave a Reply

