What’s This? A Striated Heron

29 Aug
A Striated Heron

A Striated Heron

I was stumped when I first spotted this wary-looking bird. It had been making its way along the shore, crouching as it stalked its prey of small crabs that live in the mudflats there.

Armed with a number of photographs I’d taken of it, I sought to find out its identity. And I did: it’s a Striated Heron.

It isn’t  common around here. Despite visiting this area very often, I have spotted it only a few times.

I’ll bet the crabs are pleased about this…

Copyright ©

Leave a Reply

