I’m Back in the Water

9 Sep

Here in Sydney, the swimming season doesn’t officially start until October. But today’s sunshine and milder temperatures tempted more than myself into the water.

In fact, it looked perfect. The calm, clear water seemed so inviting. Until… I stepped in.

Let me clarify this. Last year, the water warmed up early. Several of us braved it in early September and were pleasantly surprised to find it a relatively comfortable eighteen degrees Celsius.

More– just yesterday I tested the temperature in the shallows. It registered a profoundly reassuring eighteen and half.

Problem is, I can’t swim in a few inches of water.

Reality: a bare sixteen degrees awaited me . And if anyone thinks that a couple of degrees difference in water temperature is irrelevant, I suggest they think again. 🙂

The final crucible: the hot water system had broken, so cold showers were all that was on offer.

Anyway, at least three swimmers, including me, faced the water. And I actually clocked up a couple of hundred metres.

Not bad for the first swim of the  season…

Copyright ©

It looks inviting

It looks inviting

 

6 Responses to “I’m Back in the Water”

  1. Linda Visman - wangiwriter September 9, 2014 at 10:10 am #

    You’re braver than I am, Margaret!

  2. Odie Langley September 9, 2014 at 10:37 am #

    Proud of your results that may have encouraged others.

  3. davidprosser September 9, 2014 at 3:04 pm #

    Heck, 18 degrees is the height of Summer here.At that temperature we’d think we were in heaven, There might be no pictures of birds today so I’ll have to imagine your ‘Goose bumps’
    xxx Massive Hugs xxx

    • Margaret Lynette Sharp September 11, 2014 at 10:59 am #

      Strange to say, David, I didn’t get any!
      And today, Thursday, the water temperature has gone up to a whopping 17 degrees. Better still, the hot showers are back. Bliss!
      xxx Gigantic Hugs xxx

Leave a Reply

