Flowers that Remind Me of Childhood

8 Oct

2013_1021imagefacebook0094

Certain flowers remind me of my childhood.

I grew up in an inner-city suburb of Sydney, where gardens were far less common than in the district where we now live.

In fact, I remember only a handful of flowers that grew in my childhood home: red geraniums, snowdrops, snapdragons of many colours,   red, pink and yellow four-o’clocks, and purple pelargoniums.

Here is a photo of a direct descendant of that original purple pelargonium. When we moved, we took slips, and so the plant, as well as the memory, lingers on.

Copyright ©

4 Responses to “Flowers that Remind Me of Childhood”

  1. Linda Visman - wangiwriter October 8, 2014 at 11:18 am #

    There are a few flowers and plants that remind me of my childhood. Mum was a keen gardener and loved flowers. Sweet peas, geraniums, and several shrubs and small trees like a tea-tree, jacaranda and may bush, all remind me of Mum. I have planted a couple in my garden in her memory. 🙂

  2. Aquileana October 11, 2014 at 7:16 am #

    Beautiful flowers always bring back sweet memories!,
    Love, Aquileana 😀

Leave a Reply

