Focus on Birds: Grey Butcherbird

8 Dec

Although officially these birds are classified as common, I don’t see them very often. Now and then, though, I spot one in the local park or occasionally in our own backyard.

Grey Butcherbirds somewhat resemble our Laughing Kookaburras, but the Butcherbirds are significantly smaller.

In this photo, the Butcherbird is surrounded by much greenery. It’s perched in a large Pittosporum , heavy with orange fruit.

Enjoy!

Copyright ©

Grey Butcherbird

Grey Butcherbird

6 Responses to “Focus on Birds: Grey Butcherbird”

  1. Crooked Tracks December 8, 2014 at 3:06 pm #

    We also have trees with orange fruit that the birds love. I wonder if they really like the color orange?

  2. davidprosser December 8, 2014 at 8:28 pm #

    To my untrained eye it does look like the kookaburra. What an unusual name for a bird though.
    xxx Massive Hugs xxx

  3. Flamingo Dancer December 8, 2014 at 11:35 pm #

    No they aren’t in your park for they are all in my garden. I try to appreciate “common” and exotic, but the greedy ones annoy me.

    • Margaret Lynette Sharp December 9, 2014 at 3:27 am #

      I wonder why they’ve chosen to hang out in your yard… I haven’t noticed their behaviour much since I so rarely see them.

Leave a Reply

