The Miracle of Four O’Clocks

7 Mar

Margaret's Classic Posts

Four O'clocks Four O’clocks

I don’t remember a time when Four O’Clocks were not a part of my life. I confess that my fascination with them was even greater when I was a child – I guess familiarity has a way of dulling the sense of awe and wonder that such things arouse when one first encounters them as a very young child. I wondered then, as I on a rare occasion wonder now, how on earth do they know the time, and herald it in a glorious show of their formerly concealed, absolutely brilliant, interior colours…

Perhaps it isn’t so surprising that they have survived in my psyche as one of the joys of summer and early autumn, here in Sydney, Australia. They grow like weeks in our yard – never needing attention, and quite capable of unwanted spreading – though in their defense, they are far less invasive then many…

View original post 19 more words

4 Responses to “The Miracle of Four O’Clocks”

  1. davidprosser March 7, 2016 at 7:05 am #

    This is not a plant I’ve ever heard of before Margaret. It looks quite pretty though.
    xxx Massive Hugs xxx

    • Margaret Lynette Sharp March 7, 2016 at 9:28 am #

      It’s grown in other parts of the world, David, but even where I live, it isn’t common. We brought it here from my childhood home, but it grows very easily.
      xxx Huge Hugs xxx

  2. Debbie Robson March 7, 2016 at 10:39 am #

    And at my place too Margaret, growing from a small crack in concrete into a large bush!

Leave a Reply

