Just Released: “After the Pemberley Ball”

1 Sep

I’ve just released a short novelette, called ‘After the Pemberley Ball’. No prizes for guessing it’s Jane Austen Fan Fiction.

I thought that, maybe, you’d like to know a little about what’s involved in creating a short work.

The first ingredient was the idea. It swirled around in my brain for about a month, before I started to type,

Next came the interesting bit: every day for around nine days, I devoted an hour or two to its construction. I admit to dislike typing, but it had to be done, and so it was. At the end of the first day, I was excited. This soon waned, replaced by something akin to exhaustion. Not surprisingly, Regency English does not come naturally to me. However, I stuck to it – those of us born under the sign of Sagittarius seem destined to do so.

Time moved along, and so the first draft was finished. Next came the first editing, which I performed on my own. Next, my husband – retired pipe organ builder Ronald Sharp B.E.M. – did a second edit and proofread. Next, I made a cover, and soon the blurb – a rather tricky bit – was written, too.

The final stage – uploading to Amazon – is great fun. Even more thrilling is to see it, live, on its Amazon page!

Yes, it’s short, and so far, it’s been alternatively loved and loathed – but perhaps *you* would like it!

 

2 Responses to “Just Released: “After the Pemberley Ball””

  1. Sudhir Chauhan September 1, 2017 at 6:50 am #

    cover is wonderful…… all the best…..

Leave a Reply

